Paediatric nephrologists care for children with kidney disease, hypertension, fluid and electrolyte disorders, dialysis and kidney transplantation.
Kidney disease, dialysis and transplant.
Typical training length in the overview: 3 years; varies by country and pathway. Individual program records take precedence.
A listed program is not a confirmed vacancy. Record update dates do not establish that an application cycle is open. Follow the official source for current availability and eligibility.
Clinical trainingIntake not confirmed
Kanagawa Children's Medical Center
Yokohama · Japan
Pediatric Nephrology
- Duration
- 2 years
- Positions/year
- 1
Two-year fixed-term full-time post starting 1 April 2028; applicants should have completed pediatric specialty training.
Record updated 2026-10-29 · Evidence policy
Clinical trainingIntake not confirmed
Osaka Women's and Children's Hospital
Izumi, Osaka · Japan
Pediatric Nephrology
- Duration
- Not recorded
- Positions/year
- Not recorded
Subspecialty fellowship for those who finished pediatric specialist program; also diabetes and bone-mineral disorders. Duration negotiable; flyer May 2025 (4 nephrology specialists since 2012).
Record updated 2026-10-29 · Evidence policy
Clinical trainingIntake not confirmed
Nazarbayev University School of Medicine / University Medical Center
Astana · Kazakhstan
Pediatric Nephrology
- Duration
- 2 years
- Positions/year
- Not recorded
Two-year clinical fellowship at UMC Pediatric Clinical Academic Department; curriculum built on ACGME core competencies with UPMC. Needs a recognised residency.
Record updated 2026-10-29 · Evidence policy
Clinical trainingIntake not confirmed
University of Nairobi, East African Kidney Institute (Dept of Surgery)
Nairobi · Kenya
Pediatric Nephrology
- Duration
- 2 years
- Positions/year
- Not recorded
Minimum 2, maximum 4 academic years, full time; one intake each September. Open to MMed Paediatrics or Internal Medicine holders. Based at the EAKI, KNH complex.
Record updated 2026-10-29 · Evidence policy
Clinical trainingIntake not confirmed
Rīga Stradiņš University, Department of Residency
Riga · Latvia
Pediatric Nephrology
- Duration
- 3 years
- Positions/year
- 1
3-year, 198 ECTS; requires paediatrician certificate or 3rd-year paediatrics residency. 1 budget-funded place listed; fee EUR 5,800/yr otherwise.
Record updated 2026-10-29 · Evidence policy
Clinical trainingIntake not confirmed
Malaysian Paediatric Nephrology Subspecialty Subcommittee (MMC)
Kuala Lumpur · Malaysia
Pediatric Nephrology
- Duration
- 3 years
- Positions/year
- Not recorded
Minimum 3 years, optional final year overseas; needs MRCPCH/MMed Paeds and 2 years service. Max 2 trainees per trainer.
Record updated 2026-10-29 · Evidence policy
Clinical trainingIntake not confirmed
Instituto Nacional de Pediatria
Mexico City · Mexico
Pediatric Nephrology
- Duration
- 2 years
- Positions/year
- Not recorded
INP course (UNAM-endorsed); 2026 call. Duration from INP 2022 catalogue. Foreign applicants need medical insurance and PALS/NRP.
Record updated 2026-10-29 · Evidence policy
Clinical trainingIntake not confirmed
Nederlandse Vereniging voor Kindergeneeskunde (NVK) subspecialty training
Multiple (Netherlands-wide) · Netherlands
Pediatric Nephrology
- Duration
- 2.5 years
- Positions/year
- Not recorded
30-month full-time subspecialty training after kinderarts; >=12 mo clinical, >=6 mo dialysis/transplant, >=6 mo research; up to 12 mo abroad if approved. NVK membership required.
Record updated 2026-10-29 · Evidence policy
Clinical trainingIntake not confirmed
College of Physicians and Surgeons Pakistan (CPSP)
Karachi (accredited centres nationwide) · Pakistan
Pediatric Nephrology
- Duration
- Not recorded
- Positions/year
- Not recorded
Listed by CPSP as a second-fellowship specialty after FCPS Paediatrics; training is delivered at CPSP-accredited institutions (see CPSP accredited-institutions list). Duration not stated on page.
Record updated 2026-10-29 · Evidence policy
Clinical trainingIntake not confirmed
The Children's Hospital & Institute of Child Health, Lahore
Lahore · Pakistan
Pediatric Nephrology
- Duration
- Not recorded
- Positions/year
- Not recorded
Listed in the PM&DC recognised Pakistani postgraduate qualifications list (1 Oct 2026) for this hospital. Duration and positions not given.
Record updated 2026-10-29 · Evidence policy
Clinical trainingIntake not confirmed
Universidad Peruana Cayetano Heredia (Facultad de Medicina Alberto Hurtado)
Lima · Peru
Pediatric Nephrology
- Duration
- 2 years
- Positions/year
- Not recorded
Two-year second-specialty (residentado) programme, UPCH; main site Hospital Cayetano Heredia, Lima.
Record updated 2026-10-29 · Evidence policy
Clinical trainingIntake not confirmed
Philippine Children's Medical Center
Quezon City · Philippines
Pediatric Nephrology
- Duration
- 2 years
- Positions/year
- 6
Six fellowship plantilla positions; two-year programme.
Record updated 2026-10-29 · Evidence policy
Clinical trainingIntake not confirmed
University of the Philippines Manila - Philippine General Hospital
Manila · Philippines
Pediatric Nephrology
- Duration
- Not recorded
- Positions/year
- Not recorded
Over 30 years of training. Duration and positions not stated.
Record updated 2026-10-29 · Evidence policy
Clinical trainingIntake not confirmed
Centrum Medycznego Kształcenia Podyplomowego (CMKP) - national specialisation programme
Multiple (Poland-wide) · Poland
Pediatric Nephrology
- Duration
- 2 years
- Positions/year
- Not recorded
2-year programme for doctors who already hold a paediatrics specialisation (programme for 2023 intake).
Record updated 2026-10-29 · Evidence policy
Clinical trainingIntake not confirmed
Sidra Medicine
Doha · Qatar
Pediatric Nephrology
- Duration
- 3 years
- Positions/year
- Not recorded
Listed on Sidra GME fellowship index; duration from index. Number of positions per year not stated.
Record updated 2026-10-29 · Evidence policy
Clinical trainingIntake not confirmed
Sidra Medicine
Doha · Qatar
Pediatric Nephrology
- Duration
- 1 year
- Positions/year
- Not recorded
Listed on Sidra GME fellowship index; duration from index. Number of positions per year not stated.
Record updated 2026-10-29 · Evidence policy
Clinical trainingIntake not confirmed
King Fahad Medical City
Riyadh · Saudi Arabia
Pediatric Nephrology
- Duration
- Not recorded
- Positions/year
- Not recorded
Listed on KFMC Academic and Training Services fellowship page with an SCFHS program link and named program director contact. Duration and positions not stated.
Record updated 2026-10-29 · Evidence policy
Clinical trainingIntake not confirmed
King Faisal Specialist Hospital and Research Centre
Riyadh · Saudi Arabia
Pediatric Nephrology
- Duration
- 2 years
- Positions/year
- Not recorded
Two years, with an additional year possible.
Record updated 2026-10-29 · Evidence policy
Clinical trainingIntake not confirmed
Ministry of National Guard Health Affairs, King Abdulaziz Medical City
Riyadh · Saudi Arabia
Pediatric Nephrology
- Duration
- 2 years
- Positions/year
- Not recorded
Part of a nationwide joint program under the Saudi Commission for Health Specialties umbrella.
Record updated 2026-10-29 · Evidence policy
Clinical trainingIntake not confirmed
KK Women's and Children's Hospital
Singapore · Singapore
Pediatric Nephrology
- Duration
- 1 year
- Positions/year
- 1
12 months, 1 per year. Needs MMed (Paeds)/MRCPCH or equivalent and SMC registration. Self-funded or external funding.
Record updated 2026-10-29 · Evidence policy
Clinical trainingIntake not confirmed
Ministry of Health of the Slovak Republic - minimum standards for specialisation programmes
Multiple (Slovakia-wide) · Slovakia
Pediatric Nephrology
- Duration
- 3 years
- Positions/year
- Not recorded
Minimum 3 years; entry requires paediatrics specialisation; ends with specialisation exam.
Record updated 2026-10-29 · Evidence policy
Clinical trainingIntake not confirmed
Stellenbosch University, Dept of Paediatrics and Child Health (Tygerberg)
Cape Town (Tygerberg) · South Africa
Pediatric Nephrology
- Duration
- Not recorded
- Positions/year
- Not recorded
Degree appears in SU's graduation schedule (MPhil list). Duration, intake and positions not confirmed on a programme page. Contact the department.
Record updated 2026-10-29 · Evidence policy
Clinical trainingIntake not confirmed
University of Cape Town, Dept of Paediatrics and Child Health
Cape Town · South Africa
Pediatric Nephrology
- Duration
- Not recorded
- Positions/year
- Not recorded
Listed among UCT MPhil subspecialty fields; minimum 2 years full-time for the MPhil in general. Needs registered specialist with HPCSA training number. Contact the UCT division.
Record updated 2026-10-29 · Evidence policy
Clinical trainingIntake not confirmed
University of KwaZulu-Natal, Dept of Paediatrics and Child Health (IALCH, Durban)
Durban · South Africa
Pediatric Nephrology
- Duration
- Not recorded
- Positions/year
- Not recorded
May 2026 KZN DoH advert (PAEDS-SUBSPEC 1/2026), start July 2026; in-service or fully sponsored candidates. The advert may be closed. Via APFP for African applicants.
Record updated 2026-10-29 · Evidence policy
Clinical trainingIntake not confirmed
University of the Witwatersrand, Dept of Paediatrics and Child Health
Johannesburg · South Africa
Pediatric Nephrology
- Duration
- Not recorded
- Positions/year
- Not recorded
Rotation through three academic hospitals; CMSA exit exam possible after 18 months and a research project. Apply to the heads of units.
Record updated 2026-10-29 · Evidence policy
Clinical trainingIntake not confirmed
Asan Medical Center (Seoul Asan Children's Hospital)
Seoul · South Korea
Pediatric Nephrology
- Duration
- 1 year
- Positions/year
- Not recorded
Clinical fellow (임상강사) track in 2027 intake; appointment 1 Mar 2027-29 Feb 2028; requires board certification. Table lists quota 0 for this track (unexplained); check with Asan.
Record updated 2026-10-29 · Evidence policy
Clinical trainingIntake not confirmed
Postgraduate Institute of Medicine, University of Colombo
Colombo · Sri Lanka
Pediatric Nephrology
- Duration
- 3.5 years
- Positions/year
- Not recorded
Requires MD Paediatrics. 3.5 years: 18 months local plus 24 months overseas (2015 prospectus).
Record updated 2026-10-29 · Evidence policy
Clinical trainingIntake not confirmed
SIWF/FMH paediatric Schwerpunkt programmes (Swiss paediatric societies)
Multiple (Switzerland-wide) · Switzerland
Pediatric Nephrology
- Duration
- 3 years
- Positions/year
- Not recorded
3 years; >=2 years basic paediatric training required; 1 year may overlap Facharzt training.
Record updated 2026-10-29 · Evidence policy
Clinical trainingIntake not confirmed
Turkish Ministry of Health - TUKMOS core curriculum
Multiple (Turkey-wide) · Turkey
Pediatric Nephrology
- Duration
- Not recorded
- Positions/year
- Not recorded
TUKMOS core curriculum document for paediatric nephrology subspecialty training; duration not stated in the document.
Record updated 2026-10-29 · Evidence policy
Clinical trainingIntake not confirmed
Mohammed Bin Rashid University of Medicine and Health Sciences (MBRU) / Dubai Health
Dubai · United Arab Emirates
Pediatric Nephrology
- Duration
- 2 years
- Positions/year
- 2
Established 2024; dialysis, renal transplantation and pediatric urology rotations.
Record updated 2026-10-29 · Evidence policy
Clinical trainingIntake not confirmed
Alder Hey Children's Hospital
Liverpool · United Kingdom
Pediatric Nephrology
- Duration
- Not recorded
- Positions/year
- 1
One long-term fellowship per year via the International Society of Nephrology; training plan agreed with host mentor first. Duration not stated on page.
Record updated 2026-10-29 · Evidence policy
Clinical trainingIntake not confirmed
Alder Hey Children's Hospital; Royal Manchester Children's Hospital
Liverpool / Manchester · United Kingdom
Pediatric Nephrology
- Duration
- 3 years
- Positions/year
- 1
12 months each site, then individualised third year. Programme in 2026-start summary; check RCPCH page for 2027 round (Oriel closes 16 Nov 2026).
Record updated 2026-10-29 · Evidence policy
Clinical trainingIntake not confirmed
Birmingham Children's Hospital
Birmingham · United Kingdom
Pediatric Nephrology
- Duration
- Not recorded
- Positions/year
- 1
Indicative 24-36 months; all dialysis modalities, transplant incl. combined liver-kidney. Programme in 2026-start summary; check RCPCH page for 2027 round (Oriel closes 16 Nov 2026).
Record updated 2026-10-29 · Evidence policy
ObservershipIntake not confirmed
Evelina London Children's Hospital (Guy's and St Thomas')
London · United Kingdom
Pediatric Nephrology
- Duration
- Not recorded
- Positions/year
- Not recorded
Non-UK consultants/trainees; 6+ weeks advised. Hands-on needs GMC/NMC; observership available. Clinics, dialysis, transplant MDTs. Weekly fee on request.
Record updated 2026-10-29 · Evidence policy
Clinical trainingIntake not confirmed
Great Ormond Street Hospital; Evelina London Children's Hospital
London · United Kingdom
Pediatric Nephrology
- Duration
- Not recorded
- Positions/year
- 1
Indicative 24-36 months, ~12 months at each site. Programme in 2026-start summary; check RCPCH page for 2027 round (Oriel closes 16 Nov 2026).
Record updated 2026-10-29 · Evidence policy
Clinical trainingIntake not confirmed
Leeds Children's Hospital (Leeds General Infirmary)
Leeds · United Kingdom
Pediatric Nephrology
- Duration
- Not recorded
- Positions/year
- 1
Indicative 24-36 months; includes renal biopsy training and outreach clinics. Programme in 2026-start summary; check RCPCH page for 2027 round (Oriel closes 16 Nov 2026).
Record updated 2026-10-29 · Evidence policy
Clinical trainingIntake not confirmed
RCPCH national grid (sub-specialty) training, UK deaneries
Multiple (UK-wide) · United Kingdom
Pediatric Nephrology
- Duration
- Not recorded
- Positions/year
- Not recorded
RCPCH grid sub-specialty programme (2027 round). Typically 2-3 years indicatively, capability-based. Open to UK/ROI trainees only. 2026-27 round: Oriel applications close 16 Nov 2026; programmes typically 2-3 yrs.
Record updated 2026-10-29 · Evidence policy
Clinical trainingIntake not confirmed
University Hospital Wales (Children's Hospital for Wales); Bristol Royal Hospital for Children
Cardiff / Bristol · United Kingdom
Pediatric Nephrology
- Duration
- 3 years
- Positions/year
- 1
12 months Cardiff, 12 months Bristol, plus 12 months at either site. Programme in 2026-start summary; check RCPCH page for 2027 round (Oriel closes 16 Nov 2026).
Record updated 2026-10-29 · Evidence policy
Clinical trainingIntake not confirmed
Ann & Robert H. Lurie Children's Hospital of Chicago / Northwestern University
Chicago · USA
Pediatric Nephrology
- Duration
- 3 years
- Positions/year
- 9
Listed on Lurie Children's pediatric fellowship page; duration and positions not stated there.
Record updated 2026-10-29 · Evidence policy
Clinical trainingIntake not confirmed
Boston Children's Hospital
Boston · USA
Pediatric Nephrology
- Duration
- 3 years
- Positions/year
- 3
Listed on Boston Children's GME page as accredited (shown as a residency listing); length and positions not stated there.
Record updated 2026-10-29 · Evidence policy
Clinical trainingIntake not confirmed
Children's Hospital at Montefiore Einstein / Albert Einstein College of Medicine
Bronx, NY · USA
Pediatric Nephrology
- Duration
- Not recorded
- Positions/year
- Not recorded
Listed among CHAM's pediatric fellowship programs (19 subspecialties per the CHAM site); length and positions not stated on the page.
Record updated 2026-10-29 · Evidence policy
Clinical trainingIntake not confirmed
Children's Hospital Los Angeles (Keck School of Medicine of USC)
Los Angeles, CA · USA
Pediatric Nephrology
- Duration
- Not recorded
- Positions/year
- Not recorded
Listed on the CHLA fellowships page (141 clinical fellows, 32 ACGME-accredited programs); length and positions not stated on the list.
Record updated 2026-10-29 · Evidence policy
Clinical trainingIntake not confirmed
Children's Hospital of Philadelphia
Philadelphia · USA
Pediatric Nephrology
- Duration
- 3 years
- Positions/year
- 3
Three-year program, three fellows per year; research project required for board exam eligibility.
Record updated 2026-10-29 · Evidence policy
Clinical trainingIntake not confirmed
Children's Mercy Kansas City
Kansas City · USA
Pediatric Nephrology
- Duration
- 3 years
- Positions/year
- 1
Three-year program, one fellow accepted per year; continually ACGME-accredited since 1991.
Record updated 2026-10-29 · Evidence policy
Clinical trainingIntake not confirmed
Children's National Hospital
Washington, DC · USA
Pediatric Nephrology
- Duration
- 3 years
- Positions/year
- 2
Three-year ACGME-accredited program; positions not stated.
Record updated 2026-10-29 · Evidence policy
Clinical trainingIntake not confirmed
Cincinnati Children's Hospital Medical Center
Cincinnati · USA
Pediatric Nephrology
- Duration
- 3 years
- Positions/year
- 3
Listed on Cincinnati Children's clinical fellowship page (60 programs); length and positions not stated there.
Record updated 2026-10-29 · Evidence policy
Clinical trainingIntake not confirmed
Columbia University Irving Medical Center / NewYork-Presbyterian Morgan Stanley Children's Hospital
New York, NY · USA
Pediatric Nephrology
- Duration
- Not recorded
- Positions/year
- Not recorded
Division fellowship listed on Columbia Pediatrics advanced fellowship training page (over 80 ACGME-accredited trainees); length not stated there.
Record updated 2026-10-29 · Evidence policy
Clinical trainingIntake not confirmed
Duke University / Duke Children's
Durham · USA
Pediatric Nephrology
- Duration
- 3 years
- Positions/year
- 1
Listed on Duke Pediatrics fellowship page; duration and positions not stated there.
Record updated 2026-10-29 · Evidence policy