Intensivists manage life-threatening illness and injury in the PICU: respiratory failure, sepsis, shock, neurocritical care and post-operative care, including mechanical ventilation and advanced haemodynamic monitoring.
Intensive care for critically ill children (PICU).
Typical training length in the overview: 3 years; varies by country and pathway. Individual program records take precedence.
A listed program is not a confirmed vacancy. Record update dates do not establish that an application cycle is open. Follow the official source for current availability and eligibility.
Clinical trainingIntake not confirmed
Osaka Women's and Children's Hospital
Izumi, Osaka · Japan
Pediatric Critical Care Medicine
- Duration
- Not recorded
- Positions/year
- Not recorded
Subspecialty fellow for pediatric-specialist program graduates; non-regular physician post; duration by consultation. Page's start date is April 2024 so may be dated; positions/deadline 'TBD'.
Record updated 2026-10-29 · Evidence policy
Clinical trainingIntake not confirmed
University of Nairobi / Kenyatta National Hospital / AIC Kijabe Hospital
Nairobi · Kenya
Pediatric Critical Care Medicine
- Duration
- 2 years
- Positions/year
- Not recorded
Rolling applications; intakes September and February; aimed at paediatricians from sub-Saharan Africa. Covers emergency and critical care.
Record updated 2026-10-29 · Evidence policy
Clinical trainingIntake not confirmed
American University of Beirut Medical Center
Beirut · Lebanon
Pediatric Critical Care Medicine
- Duration
- 3 years
- Positions/year
- Not recorded
Department of Pediatrics and Adolescent Medicine fellowship; all AUB pediatric fellowships are 3 years. GME applications open for one month each November.
Record updated 2026-10-29 · Evidence policy
Clinical trainingIntake not confirmed
Vilnius University Faculty of Medicine
Vilnius · Lithuania
Pediatric Critical Care Medicine
- Duration
- 6 years
- Positions/year
- Not recorded
Combined 6-year, 390 ECTS residency awarding paediatrician and paediatric intensive care qualification (MN 151:2021); taught in Lithuanian.
Record updated 2026-10-29 · Evidence policy
Clinical trainingIntake not confirmed
Instituto Nacional de Pediatria
Mexico City · Mexico
Pediatric Critical Care Medicine
- Duration
- 2 years
- Positions/year
- Not recorded
INP course (UNAM-endorsed); 2026 call. Duration from INP 2022 catalogue. Foreign applicants need medical insurance and PALS/NRP.
Record updated 2026-10-29 · Evidence policy
Clinical trainingIntake not confirmed
Patan Academy of Health Sciences
Lalitpur (Kathmandu valley) · Nepal
Pediatric Critical Care Medicine
- Duration
- 1.5 years
- Positions/year
- Not recorded
Established 2023; first paediatric critical care fellowship in Nepal (18 months). PICU 6 beds plus 6-bed HDU at Patan Hospital. Prospectus on the PAHS fellowship page.
Record updated 2026-10-29 · Evidence policy
Clinical trainingIntake not confirmed
College of Physicians and Surgeons Pakistan (CPSP)
Karachi (accredited centres nationwide) · Pakistan
Pediatric Critical Care Medicine
- Duration
- Not recorded
- Positions/year
- Not recorded
Listed by CPSP as a second-fellowship specialty after FCPS Paediatrics; training is delivered at CPSP-accredited institutions (see CPSP accredited-institutions list). Duration not stated on page.
Record updated 2026-10-29 · Evidence policy
Clinical trainingIntake not confirmed
National Institute of Child Health (NICH)
Karachi · Pakistan
Pediatric Critical Care Medicine
- Duration
- Not recorded
- Positions/year
- Not recorded
NICH advertised admissions to its 2nd Fellowship in PICU (last date 30 June in the notice). 553-bed children's hospital; apply via the downloadable form.
Record updated 2026-10-29 · Evidence policy
Clinical trainingIntake not confirmed
The Aga Khan University Hospital
Karachi · Pakistan
Pediatric Critical Care Medicine
- Duration
- Not recorded
- Positions/year
- Not recorded
Listed as no position for the 2027 induction cycle. Duration not stated.
Record updated 2026-10-29 · Evidence policy
Clinical trainingIntake not confirmed
The Indus Hospital & Health Network
Karachi · Pakistan
Pediatric Critical Care Medicine
- Duration
- Not recorded
- Positions/year
- Not recorded
Listed among CPSP-accredited fellowship programmes at Indus Hospital Karachi. Duration and positions not stated on the page.
Record updated 2026-10-29 · Evidence policy
Clinical trainingIntake not confirmed
Universidad Peruana Cayetano Heredia (Facultad de Medicina Alberto Hurtado)
Lima · Peru
Pediatric Critical Care Medicine
- Duration
- 2 years
- Positions/year
- Not recorded
Two-year second-specialty (residentado) programme, UPCH; main site Hospital Nacional Cayetano Heredia, Lima.
Record updated 2026-10-29 · Evidence policy
Clinical trainingIntake not confirmed
Philippine Children's Medical Center
Quezon City · Philippines
Pediatric Critical Care Medicine
- Duration
- 2 years
- Positions/year
- Not recorded
24-month programme; the centre is also an AHA international training centre (BLS, PALS).
Record updated 2026-10-29 · Evidence policy
Clinical trainingIntake not confirmed
University of the Philippines Manila - Philippine General Hospital
Manila · Philippines
Pediatric Critical Care Medicine
- Duration
- Not recorded
- Positions/year
- Not recorded
Described as a pioneer programme in the country. Duration and positions not stated.
Record updated 2026-10-29 · Evidence policy
Clinical trainingIntake not confirmed
Sidra Medicine
Doha · Qatar
Pediatric Critical Care Medicine
- Duration
- 3 years
- Positions/year
- Not recorded
Listed on Sidra GME fellowship index; duration from index. Number of positions per year not stated.
Record updated 2026-10-29 · Evidence policy
Clinical trainingIntake not confirmed
Sidra Medicine
Doha · Qatar
Pediatric Critical Care Medicine
- Duration
- 2 years
- Positions/year
- Not recorded
Listed on Sidra GME fellowship index; duration from index. Number of positions per year not stated.
Record updated 2026-10-29 · Evidence policy
Clinical trainingIntake not confirmed
University of Rwanda, College of Medicine and Health Sciences
Kigali · Rwanda
Pediatric Critical Care Medicine
- Duration
- 2 years
- Positions/year
- Not recorded
University of Rwanda programme portal entry; no description or entry requirements published there. Contact admissions.
Record updated 2026-10-29 · Evidence policy
Clinical trainingIntake not confirmed
King Abdulaziz Cardiac Center, King Abdulaziz Medical City (MNGHA)
Riyadh · Saudi Arabia
Pediatric Critical Care Medicine
- Duration
- Not recorded
- Positions/year
- Not recorded
KACC is listed as SCFHS-accredited for Pediatric Cardiac ICU training. Duration and positions not stated on this page.
Record updated 2026-10-29 · Evidence policy
Clinical trainingIntake not confirmed
King Fahad Medical City
Riyadh · Saudi Arabia
Pediatric Critical Care Medicine
- Duration
- Not recorded
- Positions/year
- Not recorded
Listed on KFMC Academic and Training Services fellowship page with an SCFHS program link and named program director contact. Duration and positions not stated.
Record updated 2026-10-29 · Evidence policy
Clinical trainingIntake not confirmed
King Faisal Specialist Hospital and Research Centre
Riyadh · Saudi Arabia
Pediatric Critical Care Medicine
- Duration
- 2 years
- Positions/year
- Not recorded
Fellowship in pediatric critical care for independent management of a multidisciplinary PICU.
Record updated 2026-10-29 · Evidence policy
Clinical trainingIntake not confirmed
KK Women's and Children's Hospital
Singapore · Singapore
Pediatric Critical Care Medicine
- Duration
- 1 year
- Positions/year
- Not recorded
12 months, optional 12-month extension; intakes Jan and Jul. Self- or externally funded; SMC registration needed.
Record updated 2026-10-29 · Evidence policy
Clinical trainingIntake not confirmed
National University Hospital (KTP-NUCMI)
Singapore · Singapore
Pediatric Critical Care Medicine
- Duration
- 1 year
- Positions/year
- Not recorded
12-month paid clinical fellowship in the 18-bed NUH PICU; strong trainees may be considered for a further 12 months of advanced training. Qualification must be SMC-registrable.
Record updated 2026-10-29 · Evidence policy
Clinical trainingIntake not confirmed
Ministry of Health of the Slovak Republic - minimum standards for specialisation programmes
Multiple (Slovakia-wide) · Slovakia
Pediatric Critical Care Medicine
- Duration
- 3 years
- Positions/year
- Not recorded
Minimum 3 years; 36 months in PICU/anaesthesia; entry via paediatrics, anaesthesiology or paediatric surgery; ends with exam.
Record updated 2026-10-29 · Evidence policy
Clinical trainingIntake not confirmed
Stellenbosch University, Faculty of Medicine and Health Sciences
Stellenbosch · South Africa
Pediatric Critical Care Medicine
- Duration
- 2 years
- Positions/year
- Not recorded
24 months full-time; requires FC Paed (SA) or MMed (Paed); tied to a Western Cape senior registrar post or self-funding. Studyportals: apply before 31 Mar 2027 for Feb 2028 start; 24 months.
Record updated 2026-10-29 · Evidence policy
Clinical trainingIntake not confirmed
University of Cape Town, Dept of Paediatrics and Child Health
Cape Town · South Africa
Pediatric Critical Care Medicine
- Duration
- Not recorded
- Positions/year
- Not recorded
Listed among UCT MPhil subspecialty fields; minimum 2 years full-time for the MPhil in general. Needs registered specialist with HPCSA training number. Contact the UCT division.
Record updated 2026-10-29 · Evidence policy
Clinical trainingIntake not confirmed
University of KwaZulu-Natal, Dept of Paediatrics and Child Health (IALCH, Durban)
Durban · South Africa
Pediatric Critical Care Medicine
- Duration
- Not recorded
- Positions/year
- Not recorded
May 2026 KZN DoH advert (PAEDS-SUBSPEC 1/2026), start July 2026; in-service or fully sponsored candidates. The advert may be closed. Via APFP for African applicants.
Record updated 2026-10-29 · Evidence policy
Clinical trainingIntake not confirmed
Asan Medical Center (Seoul Asan Children's Hospital)
Seoul · South Korea
Pediatric Critical Care Medicine
- Duration
- 1 year
- Positions/year
- Not recorded
Clinical fellow (임상강사) track in 2027 intake; appointment 1 Mar 2027-29 Feb 2028; requires board certification. Table lists quota 0 for this track (unexplained); check with Asan.
Record updated 2026-10-29 · Evidence policy
ObservershipIntake not confirmed
Samsung Medical Center
Seoul · South Korea
Pediatric Critical Care Medicine
- Duration
- Not recorded
- Positions/year
- Not recorded
Observership open in PICU. Usually 1 month, max 88 days. Apply 6+ months ahead (pediatrics). MD required; English or Korean. Contact ihs.smc@samsung.com.
Record updated 2026-10-29 · Evidence policy
Clinical trainingIntake not confirmed
Postgraduate Institute of Medicine, University of Colombo
Colombo · Sri Lanka
Pediatric Critical Care Medicine
- Duration
- Not recorded
- Positions/year
- Not recorded
Requires MD Paediatrics. Duration not stated.
Record updated 2026-10-29 · Evidence policy
Clinical trainingIntake not confirmed
Chulalongkorn University / King Chulalongkorn Memorial Hospital
Bangkok · Thailand
Pediatric Critical Care Medicine
- Duration
- 2 years
- Positions/year
- Not recorded
Normally two years after paediatric residency, with flexible 1-year PICU attachment and electives. Fees and places not stated.
Record updated 2026-10-29 · Evidence policy
Clinical trainingIntake not confirmed
Faculty of Medicine Siriraj Hospital, Mahidol University
Bangkok · Thailand
Pediatric Critical Care Medicine
- Duration
- Not recorded
- Positions/year
- Not recorded
Listed under the Division of Intensive Care training offerings. Duration and positions not stated.
Record updated 2026-10-29 · Evidence policy
Clinical trainingIntake not confirmed
Turkish Ministry of Health - Tıpta Uzmanlık Kurulu (TUK) subspecialty system
Multiple (Turkey-wide) · Turkey
Pediatric Critical Care Medicine
- Duration
- 3 years
- Positions/year
- Not recorded
3-year paediatric subspecialty (yan dal) per Annex 3 of the specialty training regulation, as listed on TTB UDEK page (2022). TUK page links core curricula.
Record updated 2026-10-29 · Evidence policy
Clinical trainingIntake not confirmed
Mohammed Bin Rashid University of Medicine and Health Sciences (MBRU) / Dubai Health
Dubai · United Arab Emirates
Pediatric Critical Care Medicine
- Duration
- 3 years
- Positions/year
- 2
Established 2024.
Record updated 2026-10-29 · Evidence policy
Clinical trainingIntake not confirmed
Alder Hey Children's Hospital
Liverpool · United Kingdom
Pediatric Critical Care Medicine
- Duration
- 0.5 years
- Positions/year
- Not recorded
6-month posts (may extend) for PICM grid completers; special-interest projects. Advert seen was closed; posts recur.
Record updated 2026-10-29 · Evidence policy
Clinical trainingIntake not confirmed
Alder Hey Children's Hospital
Liverpool · United Kingdom
Pediatric Critical Care Medicine
- Duration
- Not recorded
- Positions/year
- Not recorded
6-12 month post for ST4+ (ideally ST6+) or post-CCT paediatricians; suitable for OOPT. Advert seen was closed.
Record updated 2026-10-29 · Evidence policy
Clinical trainingIntake not confirmed
Alder Hey Children's Hospital; Ysbyty Glan Clwyd (anaesthetics)
Liverpool · United Kingdom
Pediatric Critical Care Medicine
- Duration
- 3 years
- Positions/year
- 2
24 months Alder Hey (national ECMO centre) plus 12 months anaesthetics. Programme in 2026-start summary; check RCPCH page for 2027 round (Oriel closes 16 Nov 2026).
Record updated 2026-10-29 · Evidence policy
Clinical trainingIntake not confirmed
Birmingham Children's Hospital; University Hospital Birmingham
Birmingham · United Kingdom
Pediatric Critical Care Medicine
- Duration
- 3 years
- Positions/year
- 2
24 months Birmingham Children's (incl. cardiac ICU) plus 12 months anaesthetics. Programme in 2026-start summary; check RCPCH page for 2027 round (Oriel closes 16 Nov 2026).
Record updated 2026-10-29 · Evidence policy
Clinical trainingIntake not confirmed
Bristol Royal Hospital for Children; Gloucestershire Royal Hospital
Bristol · United Kingdom
Pediatric Critical Care Medicine
- Duration
- 3 years
- Positions/year
- 1
Combined cardiac/general PICU at Bristol plus anaesthetics at Gloucester. Programme in 2026-start summary; check RCPCH page for 2027 round (Oriel closes 16 Nov 2026).
Record updated 2026-10-29 · Evidence policy
Clinical trainingIntake not confirmed
Evelina London Children's Hospital (Guy's and St Thomas')
London · United Kingdom
Pediatric Critical Care Medicine
- Duration
- Not recorded
- Positions/year
- Not recorded
Non-UK paediatricians, anaesthetists and nurses. Hands-on attachment of 6+ months recommended and needs GMC/NMC registration; observership option available.
Record updated 2026-10-29 · Evidence policy
Clinical trainingIntake not confirmed
Great North Children's Hospital; Freeman Hospital
Newcastle · United Kingdom
Pediatric Critical Care Medicine
- Duration
- 2.5 years
- Positions/year
- 1
30 months across general and cardiac PICU and NECTAR retrieval service. Programme in 2026-start summary; check RCPCH page for 2027 round (Oriel closes 16 Nov 2026).
Record updated 2026-10-29 · Evidence policy
Clinical trainingIntake not confirmed
Great Ormond Street Hospital
London · United Kingdom
Pediatric Critical Care Medicine
- Duration
- Not recorded
- Positions/year
- Not recorded
ST6+ single-unit or rotational fellowships in NICU/PICU/CICU/CATS; LTFT supported. Advert closed; starts Sep 2025-Sep 2026.
Record updated 2026-10-29 · Evidence policy
Clinical trainingIntake not confirmed
Great Ormond Street Hospital; St Mary's Hospital; Evelina London Children's Hospital
London · United Kingdom
Pediatric Critical Care Medicine
- Duration
- Not recorded
- Positions/year
- 6
30-36 months WTE indicative, incl. anaesthetics and transport (CATS). Programme in 2026-start summary; check RCPCH page for 2027 round (Oriel closes 16 Nov 2026).
Record updated 2026-10-29 · Evidence policy
Clinical trainingIntake not confirmed
Leeds General Infirmary; Embrace Transport Service
Leeds · United Kingdom
Pediatric Critical Care Medicine
- Duration
- 3 years
- Positions/year
- 1
24 months Leeds PICU, 6 months Embrace transport, 6 months anaesthetics. Programme in 2026-start summary; check RCPCH page for 2027 round (Oriel closes 16 Nov 2026).
Record updated 2026-10-29 · Evidence policy
Clinical trainingIntake not confirmed
RCPCH national grid (sub-specialty) training, UK deaneries
Multiple (UK-wide) · United Kingdom
Pediatric Critical Care Medicine
- Duration
- Not recorded
- Positions/year
- Not recorded
RCPCH grid sub-specialty programme (2027 round). Typically 2-3 years indicatively, capability-based. Open to UK/ROI trainees only. Anaesthetic and ICM trainees have separate entry requirements. 2026-27 round: Oriel ap…
Record updated 2026-10-29 · Evidence policy
Clinical trainingIntake not confirmed
Royal Belfast Hospital for Sick Children; Ulster Hospital; Alder Hey
Belfast / Liverpool · United Kingdom
Pediatric Critical Care Medicine
- Duration
- 3 years
- Positions/year
- 1
Up to 21 months in Northern Ireland and 15 months at Alder Hey. Programme in 2026-start summary; check RCPCH page for 2027 round (Oriel closes 16 Nov 2026).
Record updated 2026-10-29 · Evidence policy
Clinical trainingIntake not confirmed
Royal Hospital for Children and Young People, Edinburgh; Royal Hospital for Children, Glasgow
Edinburgh / Glasgow · United Kingdom
Pediatric Critical Care Medicine
- Duration
- 3 years
- Positions/year
- 1
15 months each PICU plus 6 months adult anaesthetics at St John's, Livingston. Programme in 2026-start summary; check RCPCH page for 2027 round (Oriel closes 16 Nov 2026).
Record updated 2026-10-29 · Evidence policy
Clinical trainingIntake not confirmed
Royal Hospital for Children, Glasgow; University Hospital Crosshouse
Glasgow · United Kingdom
Pediatric Critical Care Medicine
- Duration
- 2.5 years
- Positions/year
- 1
24 months PICU at Glasgow (22 beds) plus 6 months anaesthetics. Programme in 2026-start summary; check RCPCH page for 2027 round (Oriel closes 16 Nov 2026).
Record updated 2026-10-29 · Evidence policy
Clinical trainingIntake not confirmed
Advocate Children's Hospital (Park Ridge)
Park Ridge, IL · USA
Pediatric Critical Care Medicine
- Duration
- Not recorded
- Positions/year
- Not recorded
Listed as a participating pediatric critical care program in the AAMC ERAS 2027 program list; length and positions not stated there.
Record updated 2026-10-29 · Evidence policy
Clinical trainingIntake not confirmed
Ann & Robert H. Lurie Children's Hospital of Chicago / Northwestern University
Chicago · USA
Pediatric Critical Care Medicine
- Duration
- 3 years
- Positions/year
- 4
Listed on Lurie Children's pediatric fellowship page; duration and positions not stated there.
Record updated 2026-10-29 · Evidence policy