Intensivists manage life-threatening illness and injury in the PICU: respiratory failure, sepsis, shock, neurocritical care and post-operative care, including mechanical ventilation and advanced haemodynamic monitoring.
Intensive care for critically ill children (PICU).
Typical training length in the overview: 3 years; varies by country and pathway. Individual program records take precedence.
A listed program is not a confirmed vacancy. Record update dates do not establish that an application cycle is open. Follow the official source for current availability and eligibility.
Clinical trainingIntake not confirmed
University of Miami Miller School of Medicine / Jackson Memorial Hospital (Holtz Children's Hospital)
Miami, FL · USA
Pediatric Critical Care Medicine
- Duration
- Not recorded
- Positions/year
- Not recorded
One of 10 ACGME-accredited pediatric fellowship programs at UM/JMH described on the program page; length not stated.
Record updated 2026-10-29 · Evidence policy
Clinical trainingIntake not confirmed
University of Michigan Medical School / C.S. Mott Children's Hospital
Ann Arbor, MI · USA
Pediatric Critical Care Medicine
- Duration
- Not recorded
- Positions/year
- Not recorded
Listed in the Michigan Pediatrics fellowship menu; length and positions not stated on the menu page.
Record updated 2026-10-29 · Evidence policy
Clinical trainingIntake not confirmed
University of Minnesota / M Health Fairview Masonic Children's Hospital
Minneapolis · USA
Pediatric Critical Care Medicine
- Duration
- 3 years
- Positions/year
- 2
Listed on UMN Pediatrics medical fellowships page; duration and positions not stated there. Length/Positions per AMA FREIDA 2026.
Record updated 2026-10-29 · Evidence policy
Clinical trainingIntake not confirmed
University of Mississippi Medical Center / Children's of Mississippi
Jackson, MS · USA
Pediatric Critical Care Medicine
- Duration
- Not recorded
- Positions/year
- Not recorded
Listed as a participating pediatric critical care program in the AAMC ERAS 2027 program list; length and positions not stated there.
Record updated 2026-10-29 · Evidence policy
Clinical trainingIntake not confirmed
University of Nebraska Medical Center / Children's Nebraska
Omaha, NE · USA
Pediatric Critical Care Medicine
- Duration
- Not recorded
- Positions/year
- Not recorded
Partnership with Children's Nebraska: 32 PICU and 32 cardiac care beds, about 1,700 ICU admissions per year.
Record updated 2026-10-29 · Evidence policy
Clinical trainingIntake not confirmed
University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill / UNC Children's
Chapel Hill, NC · USA
Pediatric Critical Care Medicine
- Duration
- Not recorded
- Positions/year
- Not recorded
Listed on UNC Pediatric Education fellowships page; length and positions not stated there.
Record updated 2026-10-29 · Evidence policy
Clinical trainingIntake not confirmed
University of Oklahoma Health Sciences Center / OU Health
Oklahoma City, OK · USA
Pediatric Critical Care Medicine
- Duration
- Not recorded
- Positions/year
- Not recorded
Listed as an OU Pediatrics fellowship on the OU Health residency and fellowship programs page.
Record updated 2026-10-29 · Evidence policy
Clinical trainingIntake not confirmed
University of Pittsburgh / UPMC Children's Hospital of Pittsburgh
Pittsburgh · USA
Pediatric Critical Care Medicine
- Duration
- 3 years
- Positions/year
- 5
Listed on UPMC Children's fellowship page; duration and positions not stated there.
Record updated 2026-10-29 · Evidence policy
Clinical trainingIntake not confirmed
University of Puerto Rico School of Medicine
San Juan, Puerto Rico · USA
Pediatric Critical Care Medicine
- Duration
- Not recorded
- Positions/year
- Not recorded
Listed as a participating pediatric critical care program in the AAMC ERAS 2027 program list; length and positions not stated there.
Record updated 2026-10-29 · Evidence policy
Clinical trainingIntake not confirmed
University of Rochester / Golisano Children's Hospital
Rochester · USA
Pediatric Critical Care Medicine
- Duration
- 3 years
- Positions/year
- 1
Three-year ACGME-accredited program; positions not stated on page.
Record updated 2026-10-29 · Evidence policy
Clinical trainingIntake not confirmed
University of Tennessee Health Science Center / Le Bonheur Children's Hospital
Memphis, TN · USA
Pediatric Critical Care Medicine
- Duration
- Not recorded
- Positions/year
- Not recorded
Listed under ACGME-approved pediatric fellowship programs on the UTHSC Pediatrics fellowships page.
Record updated 2026-10-29 · Evidence policy
Clinical trainingIntake not confirmed
University of Utah Spencer Fox Eccles School of Medicine / Primary Children's Hospital
Salt Lake City, UT · USA
Pediatric Critical Care Medicine
- Duration
- Not recorded
- Positions/year
- Not recorded
Listed on the University of Utah Pediatric Fellowship Programs page; length and positions not stated there.
Record updated 2026-10-29 · Evidence policy
Clinical trainingIntake not confirmed
University of Virginia / UVA Children's Hospital
Charlottesville · USA
Pediatric Critical Care Medicine
- Duration
- 3 years
- Positions/year
- 2
Three-year training program per program page; positions not stated.
Record updated 2026-10-29 · Evidence policy
Clinical trainingIntake not confirmed
University of Wisconsin School of Medicine and Public Health / American Family Children's Hospital
Madison · USA
Pediatric Critical Care Medicine
- Duration
- 3 years
- Positions/year
- 2
Listed on UW Pediatrics fellowship page; duration and positions not stated there.
Record updated 2026-10-29 · Evidence policy
Clinical trainingIntake not confirmed
UT Health San Antonio Joe R. and Teresa Lozano Long School of Medicine
San Antonio, TX · USA
Pediatric Critical Care Medicine
- Duration
- Not recorded
- Positions/year
- Not recorded
Listed as a participating pediatric critical care program in the AAMC ERAS 2027 program list; length and positions not stated there.
Record updated 2026-10-29 · Evidence policy
Clinical trainingIntake not confirmed
UT Southwestern Medical Center / Children's Health Children's Medical Center Dallas
Dallas · USA
Pediatric Critical Care Medicine
- Duration
- 3 years
- Positions/year
- 4
Listed on Children's Health fellowship page; duration, positions and accreditation not stated there. Length/Positions per AMA FREIDA 2026.
Record updated 2026-10-29 · Evidence policy
Clinical trainingIntake not confirmed
Vanderbilt University Medical Center / Monroe Carell Jr. Children's Hospital
Nashville · USA
Pediatric Critical Care Medicine
- Duration
- 3 years
- Positions/year
- 4
Three-year ACGME-accredited program including 15 months of clinical training. Positions not stated.
Record updated 2026-10-29 · Evidence policy
Clinical trainingIntake not confirmed
Virginia Commonwealth University / Children's Hospital of Richmond at VCU
Richmond, VA · USA
Pediatric Critical Care Medicine
- Duration
- Not recorded
- Positions/year
- Not recorded
Listed as an ACGME-accredited fellowship on the Children's Hospital of Richmond at VCU fellowship programs page; length not stated there.
Record updated 2026-10-29 · Evidence policy
Clinical trainingIntake not confirmed
Washington University in St. Louis / St. Louis Children's Hospital
St. Louis · USA
Pediatric Critical Care Medicine
- Duration
- 3 years
- Positions/year
- 5
ACGME-accredited for 15 fellows, admitting 5 per year; duration not stated on page.
Record updated 2026-10-29 · Evidence policy
Clinical trainingIntake not confirmed
Yale School of Medicine / Yale New Haven Children's Hospital
New Haven · USA
Pediatric Critical Care Medicine
- Duration
- 3 years
- Positions/year
- 2
Page states fully ACGME-accredited; three-year structure shown but total length and positions not stated.
Record updated 2026-10-29 · Evidence policy